top of page
  • Writer's pictureSusan

February 2022 - Monthly Round Up

We've burst into March already, can you believe it? February may be the shortest month of the year but there was music aplenty coming from the 23rd Precinct roster. You can keep up to date with all 23rd Precinct Music writers cuts by following on Spotify playlist here.

Stuart McInnes continued his impressive streak of quality cuts with another collaboration with Liverpool's Tom Ferry. Working with long term collaborator and friend of 23rd Precinct - EMIAH - the trio cooked up a pop dance storm on 'Don't Tell Me Lies'. The track was snapped up by Sony's One Seven division and surpassing 250,000 Spotify streams in a little over 4 weeks.

Stuart also celebrated breaking into the Norwegian Dance Charts this month with his track 'Moonlight' also cowritten with Tom Ferry and featuring one of 23rd's leading lady's Alix Robson.

Joy Farrukh & Justin Kielty may be relatively new signings to the 23rd roster but they have been working tirelessly on a number of projects over the past months. February saw the release of their collaboration with Australia's Alex Preston. 'Crying Over You' is the title track from Preston's latest EP on Wh0 Plays Records and lead track features the unmistakable vocal talent of Joy - a true wonder to behold. Check out the full three-track EP here.

Fresh off the back of his amazing songwriting cut with Purple Disco Machine and Sophie & The Giants, Ryan Sewell enjoyed a month of releases under his own artist alias - Rion S. First up he teamed up with Australia's Husky for 'Just A Little Love' quickly followed by a collaboration with The Deepshakerz on 'Sirens'.

'In The Dark' by Purple Disco Machine and Sophie & The Giants got an additional boost this month with the legendary Oliver Heldens jumping on a remix - building on the substantial foundations laid by the original as it continues to climb the charts in France, Germany and Netherlands.

Mr. Sosa enjoyed a busy month following on from his release 'Ride' in January, he released 'Maui' also on Need Want. Going from strength to strength, Mr. Sosa is enjoying a flurry of BBC Radio 1 support from the likes of Jaguar & Jack Saunders. A trend we're sure will continue into the spring and beyond.

There was cause for celebration as Toby aka Mr. Sosa featured on Fresh Take Records debut vinyl compilation. 'Fresh Wax 001' features 'Scarab' by Mr. Sosa as well as music from Aymeric, Easy Peelers, Bernardo Mota and Theos & Berzingue.

Richie Blacker rise to stardom continued with his highly anticipated track with the queen of house Crystal Waters was released on Atlantic's Signal>>>Supply. 'Never Enough' was followed up with a quintessential Richie Blacker 'Rave Mix' - a sound now synonymous with the Belfast producer.

Richie also debuted in a Radio 1 Essential Mix as part of Stress Records takeover series - listen back to his mix here on BBC Sounds.

Sharon Freundlich better known as Choopie released a series of fantastic progressive releases this month. 'Pinko' & 'Camel Steps' capturing that infamous Choopie sound, climatic and atmospheric house music.

Beatport's top selling Trance artist David Forbes enjoyed a busy month of releases including returning to top label Future Sounds Of Egypt with 'Immersed'. A characterful and typical quality production from David who's enjoying a long period reigning supreme in the Beatport Charts.

David also released 'Cut The Midrange' and 'Kickback' under his bunker techno alias SEBROF.

Jardin Owens is kicking off 2022 like the way he left 2021 - on an upward trajectory and grabbing the attention of BBC Introducing's producers. His latest release 'Afterthought' - out on Elliptical Sun Recordings got an exclusive pre-release play on Scotland's Introducing programme and been steadily climbing the Beatport Trance Charts since its' release earlier this month.

Our techno heavyweight producer NEM3SI$ released 'Forever' on his own imprint Onhcet Republik - another face melting instalment from Mustafa Alici under his NEM3SI$ moniker.

The trio of James Allan, Neil Skinner make up Wraiths - an electro punk outfit from Scotland who've peaked the eyes and ears of promoters and music supervisors with their distinct confrontational lyrics and powerful tracks. This month saw the release on 'Less Than Nothing' -

Mark Sherry is back in full swing with releases and February saw him collaborate with Push on 'Big Things Have Small Beginnings' . Teaming up with the Belgian producer on this emphatic and punky techno-trance hybrid track is a match made in heaven - released on Mark's own label Outburst Records.

It was great news for 23rd Precinct Management clients Danko as they performed at a sold out King Tuts in Glasgow at the end of February. The Denny-based rock & rollers wow'd crowds with their iconic guitar solos and hard hitting performance. There is more music on the horizon for the quartet so subscribe to their newsletter here to be the first in the know.

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page