top of page
  • Writer's pictureSusan

July 2020 - Monthly Round Up

Remarkably and almost unbelievably, August is upon us. 2020 has been a year we'll all never forgot for reasons to each owns - once again we want to take a moment to express our thanks to all key workers.

July has come and gone but not before another incredibly busy period for our 23rd Precinct Music writers. An abundance of new and exciting music was bestowed upon us and we're taking time to recap what has been another amazing month for our roster.

Firstly, huge news for our long runing writer/producer/artist Richie Blacker who started the month gaining support from BBC Radio 1's Danny Howard, Annie Mac & Pete Tong for his imminent EP 'Summer Of Rave' released on Skream's label Of Unsound Mind. If five consecutive weeks of Radio 1 support wasn't enough, the end of the month brought even better news when the 3 track EP hit the number one spot for New Releases on Beatport. In addition, we signed Richie to our sister company Performance Rights Limited (PRL). You can support Richie by downloaded the EP here. Futhermore, Richie blessed us with 'Synthasonic EP' - a collaborative project with Brisboys and released on Brisbeat Records. Available to download via this link

This month brought us great new music from our writer Tom Parry. Tom released the first three instalments of his new Televisor EP. With 'Doin It' followed by 'Sony Sony' and finally 'Swipe Right'. You can listen to the new Televisor releases here. Not only that but Tom Parry collaborated alongside 23rd's Anthony Thomas and one of the greatest house producer/DJs to ever live - Todd Terry. Their project produced the disco infused house smash 'Magic' which is out now via Simma Black and you can download via Beatport here.

Our writer Louise Stonebank was back with new music alongside her partner Stonebank. Their new track 'Time' was released on electronica behemoth label Monstercat. The pair's collaborations have amassed an incredible 50 million streams on Spotify alone. Check out 'Time' on Spotify.

There's not a month goes by where our writer Ryan Sewell is not a busy bee. This month saw co-writing credits with Husky, The Deepshakerz, Philip Z, & Cashmere releasing on Bobbin Head Music, Knee Deep In Sound, Paul's Boutique and Become A Millionaire Records respectively.

There was new music from our writer Rachel Barror - her incredible songwriting and vocal abilities showcased through the stunningly powerful ballad 'Ground Up'.

One of our longest running writers, David Forbes released the mind blowing follow up to 'In My Mind' with 'Timewarp' gaining support from trance heavyweights like Arman Van Burren amongst others. It's currently sitting in the top 50 Trance tracks on Beatport. David's productions were also featured on Outburst Records highly anticipated 'Prism Vol.3' edition alongside 23rd's Mark Sherry and long term collaborator Scot Project. You can buy your physical copy here.

Alan La Porte released new music under his impressive Covenants alias. A fresh collaboration alongside IAGO 'Champagne' was released on US outfit Uprise Music. Already it's achieved fantastic playlist support across multiple streaming platforms. Give Covenants a follow on Spotify and check out the releases to date!

New music came from another one of our long standing writers - Soraya Vivian was back with a co-write and featured vocal on 'Music Pumpin'. A collaboration with Yomanda & Pete Martine. A unquestionable floor filler and party starter - Soraya's scintillating powerful vocals on full display on this track released on DeeVu Records.

Mark McGowan was back and what a return with his indie anthem 'Simple' - a characteristic toe tapper and head bobber. Mark's songwriting prowess and strong vocals have already seen this track burning up on Spotify. Go check it out here.

New music dropped both digitally and physically from our cello/vocalist Calum Ingram. His intuitive cover of Thin Lizzy's classic 'Dancing In The Moonlight' was released late in the month accompanied by an official video which you can check out here. Calum also unveiled a selection of new merchandise which is available to purchase via his online shop.

There was big remixes on some our catalogue tracks including this huge Jerry Davila & DJ Pelos remix of 'Faith' - Futuristic Polar Bears feat. Lux. The original track co-written by 23rd's Fran Cosgrave, Luke Hayes and Rhys Buckely was released alongside this superb remix on Protocol Recordings. You can check out the remix and original here.

Another huge remix came in the form of Mellow & Chayim who were on remix duties for Ryan Sewell's big soulful collaboration with Cashmere. Check it out, available via Become A Millionaire Records.

23rd Precinct Music in-house label Limbo Records released another great remix of a classic. 'Ethnic Prayer' by Havana was given a makeover by 23rd writer/producer John Kirk also known as Jay Kay. You can check out the remix here.

As we say goodbye to July, we can wait to unveil new music which will be released throughout the month of August. Stay tuned.

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page