top of page
  • Writer's pictureSusan

May 2021 - Monthly Round Up

Updated: Jun 29, 2021

We may still be living under some restrictions here in Glasgow but there has been absolutely no holding back another sensational array of releases involving 23rd Precinct Music writers in the month of May.

The month of May seen the release of Scottish icon's Texas' highly anticipated album 'Hi (Deluxe)'. Their characteristic indie-folk on full display throughout the 14 track masterpiece. Our very own Robert Hodgens co-writing & performing on tracks 'Mr Haze', 'Look What You Have Done' & 'Hi'. Singles 'Hi' and 'Mr Haze' also gathering some significant radio support with the latter achieving 'Recording Of The Week' on BBC Radio 2. You can check out the album in all it's glory here.

Our writers Rachel Barror & James Barr wrote and produced 'Tattoo', a track that we pitched to our friends Sony/ATV in Korea and was picked up for the artist Ailee. It was track number one on the Korean star's EP entitled 'LOVIN'. You can listen to it here.

Our writer Elliot Chapman had another busy month of writing and releases. Elliot's superb work ethic and attitude towards collaboration has seen him go from strength to strength in recent months & May was no different. He cowrote and vocal featured on 'Do It Again' with electronic duo Hart & Neenan. A delicious tech house number some additional and equally as tasty remixes from Santé, Mick Wilson and August Artier. Out now on Do Not Sleep Records, check it out here.

Elliot also presenting his writing and vocal skills on UKG pioneer Soulecta's album 'Soulecta & Friends'. The 2-step bop 'Tell Me It's Over' shines Elliot's vocals in a different light and really highlights his deep soulful tones. You can check out the full album here which was released on world renown Garage Shared.

Our writers Louise Stonebank & Paul Browne had success this month with their collaborative effort with trance heavyweight Lost Witness. 'Now' is a stellar trance classic and raised the eyebrows on Armin Van Burren who included it in his globally recognised radio show 'A State Of Trance'. Released on Russian label '2Rock Records', we can see this one flying high - grab a copy on 'Now' - Lost Witness, EMEL on this link.

Not one to be outdone our very own trance powerhouse David Forbes released 'Quantum' on fellow 23rd writers Mark Sherry's label Outburst Records. Already sitting pretty inside the Trance Top 100 on Beatport, it's yet more confirmation of David's exceptional skills as a writer and producer.

One of our longest running signed writers Les Elston released 'Resurrection (Cyrez Remix)' under his Lab4 alias to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the tracks original release. In 2001 Lab4 visited all corners of the global rave scene with electric live shows the world over. A staple fixture on their playlist would've been 'Resurrection' going on to become one of the duo's most requested tracks to date, and a firm Lab4 fan-favourite. Fast forward two whole decades and Finland's Cyrez maintains original pace, breathing fresh energy, sounds and excitement into this undisputed underground classic for 2021. Check it out here.

One of our most recent signings Stuart Green had a pretty busy month with his works under his garage moniker Green Deep coming to fruition and his collaborative project Loose Lip also treating us to new music. Released on Garaged Shared, 'It's Alright' was part of a compilation and packs a punch with lively melodies and classic garage rhythms.

Stuart partnered up with fellow 23rd Precinct Music songwriter Charlie Sanderson on his latest Loose Lip release 'Always On My Mind'. The pop dance masterpiece is a feel good summer tune and we have high hopes for it! Released on Spinnin Records you can listen to Jake Tarry, Loose Lip, Charlie Sanderson & Natalie Gray - 'Always On My Mind' here.

Charlie Sanderson was busy as ever. The Essex based singer-songwriter was on writing & vocal duties for Loose Lip and Geo Martinez, Dick Groves and Duurty Skanx.

Check out 'The Evolution Of Mr Lewis' the most recent album project from London's Duurty Skanx which features Charlie's smooth vocals on 'Won't Change', 'MIA' & 'Smoke & Drive' - released on DS's own label.

Charlie was back collaborating with Dick Groves - following up to their single 'Tryin Real Hard' with 'Slow Down'. A steamy-lyrically charged track with romantic and R&B elements showcasing Charlie's vocal range.

Finally check out 'Always On Time' by Geo Martinez & Charlie Sanderson which is part of the Last Night In Essex compilation.

Our writer/producer Stuart Braybrooke released a wondrous EP 'For You' demonstrating his sensational production skills. Released on WePlay Music, it's a selection of cool electronica with deep house and synthwave elements that makes for marvellous listening.

Our writer/vocalist Sarah-John Johnson was featured on Mark Knight's Toolroom radio show and subsequently released 'Believe In You' with production powerhouse Phonix - a fabulous achievement.

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page